“Have some fucking bearing,” is something I heard a a lot in the Marine Corps. It means, basically, keep your composure and don’t lose your mind. This was usually the direction given to someone who appeared to be coming close to an overwhelmed emotion. I say it myself quite often and usually enjoy the response it gets, when trying to calm down someone you are in a disagreement with or when calming your children. There’s a reason why vets don’t forget shit like this. Its effective.

Image result for cream corn marine corps

There are so many phrases that I like to recycle from Corps and some of them just come so naturally. To me, that military environment, is similar to a father-son relationship. I always found time to have fun, but holy shit was I disciplined. You were told how it is and how it was going to be. The coat of sugar wasn’t there to protect anyone’s feelings.

I often go the store with my kids and see other children that are out of control. We all look at each other because they know what I am thinking, already. They know that I don’t tolerate all of that “normal” kid bullshit, like being little assholes in the store. That being said, I am not, in any way, tooting my own horn or starting a campaign for the best father of 2016. No, my flaws as a parent are quite evident, as well. For instance, if I were in that situation, I would aggressively stop my children and ask them if they needed any bearing… and they better fucking not. I figure if its enough to startle others around me then its probably enough to scare my boys into behaving. But my views on parenting are for a different time.

Image result for marine corps

It seems funny to me, that I’ve been out for years, but still go back to how I was trained as a Marine. I get irritated when people compare us to other branches, as though there is a comparison to make. The level of discipline in that spirit to kill, does not go away. Though my habits may not be perfectly applicable to my civilian life, I incorporate what I can and think that overall I’m a better man and father because of the experiences that I’ve had. And you didn’t hear me say Army once, did you?

Image result for marine corps drill instructor knife

So when you’re feeling sorry for yourself and just can’t quite keep your shit together…. remember… HAVE SOME FUCKING BEARING!!!

Image result for marine corps drill instructor knife hand